

UTAH BEEKEEPERS' ASSOCIATION

SERVING AND REPRESENTING UTAH BEEKEEPERS SINCE 1892

2020 ANNUAL CONVENTION AGENDA (Tentative)

Hyatt Place Hotel 3090 East 6200 South, Holiday, Utah

FRIDAY, February 21, 2020

8:30 am: Convention Registration

9:00 am: Welcome: Pres. Jared Taylor

9:15 am: Stephen Stanko/Joey Caputo, UDAF, "State of the Bees Address."

9:45 am: Mike Browning: Provider of Apiculture, Pasture, Rangeland and Forage

Insurance

10:15 am: **Break (15 Minutes)**

PLEASE BE COURTEOUS AND BE IN YOUR SEATS BY 10:30 AM

10:30 am: **Keynote: Speaker David Burns**

11:30 pm: Lunch Break – Jim Retallick

PLEASE BE COURTEOUS AND BE IN YOUR SEATS BY 1:00 PM

1:00 pm: Corporal Justin Cloward, Utah Highway Patrol: Intrastate and Interstate Rules

and Regulations applicable to Apiculture.

2:00 pm: Break (30 minutes)

PLEASE BE COURTEOUS AND BE IN YOUR SEATS PROMPTLY AT 2:30 PM

2:30 pm: **Keynote Speaker David Burns continued**.

3:30 pm: Rebecca Nielson, UDAF: Proper Production, Bottling and labeling of your Honey

4:00 pm: Break until Banquet

6:00 pm: UBA ANNUAL BANQUET (Sponsored by Mike Browning: Provider of Apiculture,

Rangeland and Forage Insurance; Entertainment by Casey Lofthouse and

Friends)



SATURDAY, February 22, 2020

8:30 am: **Registration**

9:00 am: **Welcome**

9:15 am: **Bee Clubs**

9:30 am: **USDA Farm Service: (TBD)**

10:00 am: **Break (30 minutes)**

PLEASE BE COURTEOUS AND BE IN YOUR SEATS PROMPTLY AT 10:30 AM

10:30 am: Richard Homer (Homer's Honey): My Journey from Hobbyist to Commercial

Beekeepter: 1 Colony to 600+ in 9 Years: What I have learned.

12:00 pm: **Lunch Break – Brian Stephenson**

PLEASE BE COURTEOUS AND BE IN YOUR SEATS BY 1:00 PM

1:00 pm: Advant Forklift

1:30 pm: **UBA Panel Discussion**

2:30 pm: UBA Financial Update/Association Business

CONVENTION ADJOURNED:

3:00 pm: **Board Member Meeting**

A special thanks to all those board members and volunteers who made this convention possible and to our members for their continued support:

President	Jared Taylor	2019-2020	435-619-3005
Past President	Michael Stephenson	2017-2018	435-864-8346
President Elect	Brian Stephenson	2021-2022	
Directors	Doug Hawkes	2018-2020	801-599-9801
	Martin James	2019-2021	435-760-0805
	Jim Retallick	2019-2022	801-721-0354
Secretary	Mandy Taylor	Appointed	
Treasurer	Doug Hawkes	Appointed	801-599-9801
Historian	Al Chubak	Appointed	801-654-9700
Webmaster	Blaine Nay	Appointed	435-590-7569